Get Adobe Flash player

With Windows Live Mail, it's possible to leave a copy of each message on the mail server after you read it.


You'll want to do this if you read e-mail in Windows Live Mail and another program (or Webmail system). If you don't set up Windows Live Mail to leave your messages on the server, it will delete the messages as soon as it connects to read mail, and the other program (or Webmail) won't be able to see the messages.



This page explains how to set up Windows Live Mail to leave a copy of each message on the server. It assumes that you have already followed the basic instructions to set up Windows Live Mail. It also assumes that you have a POP mailbox, since IMAP mailboxes do not require this sort of setting.
Changing the Windows Live Mail settings
To leave messages on the server, you will:
•    Open the Advanced settings window for your mail account
•    Check the "Leave a copy of messages on server" checkbox

1. Start the Windows Live Mail program.
Start Windows Live Mail via the Start button or other link.
When Windows Live Mail opens, click Tools, then Accounts from the menu bar. (If the program's menu bar is not visible, hold down the Alt key and press the letter T, then release both keys.)

2. The "Accounts" window appears.
Highlight the e-mail account you wish to change and click Properties.
The "Properties" window appears:


 
You should not need to change any of the settings on the General tab.
3. Set the advanced properties.
Click the Advanced tab, then check the Leave a copy of messages on server checkbox.
To make sure copies of every message don't stay on the server forever (which can slow down your mail connections and use up your disk space allowance), we also recommend checking the box marked "Remove from server after X days". Choose a number of days that's long enough that you'll be able to read the messages in your other mail program (or Webmail).

The "Remove from server when deleted from 'Deleted Items'" checkbox controls whether an email that you delete from your computer will also get deleted from the server before the number of days specified above is reached. If you check the checkbox, then messages deleted from your computer will always be deleted from the server. If you do not check the checkbox, then messages deleted from your computer will not be deleted from the server until the specified number of days has passed (assuming that the "Remove from server after X days" checkbox is checked).
 
4. Close the setup windows.
Click OK to close the "Properties" window, then click Close to close the "Accounts" window.
Windows Live Mail configuration is complete
You're finished! From now on, any mail that arrives should stay on the server, and you should be able to see it in your other mail program or Webmail. (If you're using another mail program, you'll probably want to setup that program to leave a copy of your messages on the server, too.)

What happens if I leave e-mails on the server indefinitely?

This is not a good idea: your mailbox will become bloated and prone to errors, and if you reach your maximum mailbox quota, you may be unable to connect. We can TRY to recover your e-mails, but some of them will almost certainly be corrupt.

Tip of The Day

Just because an E-mail says "Win Tesco Vouchers" don't expect it to come from Tesco: it probably doesn't. At best you will probably get many unwanted e-mails, at worst you may acquire a Trojan.